Mater Maria > Student Learning > Curriculum > Year 11 Curriculum

Year 11 Curriculum

General Information
The Higher School Certificate recognises thirteen years of schooling. In the interests of greater career choices and increased opportunities at university and TAFE, it offers a full range of study areas matching individual abilities, interests and goals.
All courses follow syllabuses either produced or approved by the New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA).

The College provides many courses which meet the needs of each student, extension courses enable students to undertake more in-depth study in areas of special interest, and Vocational Education and Training courses count towards the HSC and also lead to qualifications recognised across a range of industries.

Students must study at least two units of English to be eligible to receive the HSC and at least one unit of Religious Education. This is a College requirement.

Life Skills courses for students with special needs may also be offered.

In addition, some TAFE courses and language courses are offered through external providers with additional cost.

Study Lines - Year 11

Year 11
The Preliminary HSC course is completed in Year 11 (120 hours
for each 2 unit course and 60 hours for each 1 unit course). The Preliminary Course involves assessment work but these assessments do not count towards the HSC mark.

Courses offered in Year 11 are 2 unit courses unless indicated:

  • Studies of Religion 2 unit or Studies of Religion 1 unit
  • English Advanced or English Standard
  • English Extension 1 (1 unit)
  • Mathematics or Mathematics Standard
  • Mathematics Extension 1 (1 unit)
  • Ancient History
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Community and Family Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Construction Pathways
  • Drama
  • Design & Technology
  • Earth and Environmental Studies
  • Economics
  • Engineering
  • Entertainment
  • Food Technology
  • Hospitality
  • Industrial Technology – Electronics or Multimedia or Timber
  • Information Processes and Technology
  • Legal Studies
  • Modern History
  • Music 1
  • Physics
  • Society and Culture
  • Sports, Lifestyle and Recreation (1 unit – Year 11 only)
  • Textiles and Design
  • Visual Art
  • Visual Design

To find out more about the above courses offered at the College please visit the New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA) website: