Mater Maria > Student Learning > Curriculum > Year 12 Curriculum

Year 12 Curriculum

General Information
The Higher School Certificate recognises thirteen years of schooling. In the interests of greater career choices and increased opportunities at university and TAFE, it offers a full range of study areas matching individual abilities, interests and goals.
All courses follow syllabuses either produced or approved by the New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA).

The College provides many courses which meet the needs of each student, extension courses enable students to undertake more in-depth study in areas of special interest, and Vocational Education and Training courses count towards the HSC and also lead to qualifications recognised across a range of industries.

Students must study at least two units of English to be eligible to receive the HSC and at least one unit of Religious Education. This is a College requirement.

Life Skills courses for students with special needs may also be offered.

In addition, some TAFE courses and language courses are offered through external providers with additional cost.

The HSC will fairly assess each student’s knowledge and skills. If students meet the minimum standard expected in a course they can expect to receive a mark of 50. If students have a higher standard of performance they will receive a higher mark. For each course, students will receive easy to understand reports which contain much more information. These reports provide clearer indications of what they have demonstrated they know, can understand and can do in each course.

Study Lines - Year 12

Year 12
The Higher School Certificate course (120 hours for each 2 unit course and 60 hours for each 1 unit course) is the Year 12 component of the two-year course and is the examinable section of the HSC. Students cannot complete the Higher School Certificate without first satisfying the requirements of the Preliminary course. The assessment component of the HSC course counts towards the final mark.

Courses offered in Year 11 are 2 unit courses unless indicated:

  • Studies of Religion 2 unit or Studies of Religion 1 unit
  • English Advanced or English Standard
  • English Extension 1 (1 unit)
  • English Extension 2 (1 unit)
  • Mathematics or Mathematics Standard
  • Mathematics Extension 1 (1 unit)
  • Mathematics Extension 2 (1 unit)
  • Ancient History
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Community and Family Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Construction Pathways
  • Drama
  • Design & Technology
  • Earth and Environmental Studies
  • Economics
  • Engineering
  • Entertainment
  • Food Technology
  • History Extension (1 unit)
  • Hospitality
  • Industrial Technology – Electronics or Multimedia or Timber
  • Information Processes and Technology
  • Legal Studies
  • Modern History
  • Music 1
  • Music 2
  • Physics
  • Society and Culture
  • Textiles and Design
  • Visual Art

To find out more about the above courses offered at the College please visit the New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA) website: